What is Sri Lanka eVisa

In 2012, Sri Lanka introduced the Electronic Travel Authorization enabling eligible travelers to get an electronic visa permit in a few easy steps. Since then, applicants from certain countries can get ETA approval entirely online without leaving home. ETA application means no embassy visits and no nerve-wracking interviews whatsoever.

With an electronic visa to Sri Lanka, a traveler’s life is much easier. The online application consists only of a few steps that can be completed online using any electronic device. An applicant just needs to remember to submit an ETA application at least 3 business days in advance of the planned trip!

Who needs an eVisa Sri Lanka

Most nationals need a visa obtained before a trip to Sri Lanka. Travelers from over 200 different countries can apply for Sri Lankan electronic visa. Sri Lankan ETA should be obtained not only by adult travelers but also by minors accompanying them. Nevertheless, the ETA application for underage travelers must be submitted by their parents or legal guardians, who must make sure that all the data provided in the online form is correct and up-to-date.

Before starting your ETA application, check if your country is listed on the list of eligible countries for ETA to Sri Lanka. If you cannot find your nationality on the list, you will need to visit the Sri Lankan Embassy in person and apply for a relevant regular visa.

List of eligible countries

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Anguilla (UK)
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba (NL)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands (UK)
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands (UK)
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Channel Islands (UK)
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini (Swaziland)
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas) (DK)
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar (UK)
  • Glorioso Islands (FR)
  • Greece
  • Greenland (DK)
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe (FR)
  • Guam (US)
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man (UK)
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Jan Mayen (NO)
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, South
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau (SAR)
  • Macedonia (North)
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique (FR)
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte (FR)
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat (UK)
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Navassa Island (US)
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles (NL)
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Niue (NZ)
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paracel Islands (CN)
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn Islands (UK)
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico (US)
  • Qatar
  • Reunion (FR)
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena (UK)
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Svalbard (NL)
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tokelau (NZ)
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (UK)
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City (Holy See)
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Wake Island (US)
  • Wallis and Futuna (FR)
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Types of Sri Lanka eVisa

Sri Lankan eVisa comes in 3 different types. Depending on the travel purpose, applicants can choose the following ones:

  • Tourist Visa: a double-entry electronic visa covering all tourism-related activities and purposes; its holder can stay in Sri Lanka for up to 30 days in total
  • Business Visa: a double-entry online visa issued for business purposes, and like in the case of tourist ETA, the holder of a business visa is also allowed a 30-day stay in total
  • Transit Visa: a 2-day entry visa for those travelers who plan to transit through Sri Lanka before reaching their final destination

Choose one type that best matches your traveling plans and visit Sri Lanka with ETA!

Sri Lanka eVisa Requirements

To submit the ETA application form, travelers must meet a few basic requirements, including:

  • a valid passport not expiring for at least 6 months
  • an active email address
  • stable Internet connection
  • a valid means of online payment

As you may see, the requirements are elementary! Grab your passport, check its validity, prepare your smartphone/laptop/PC/tablet and go to the ETA application form.

Validity of Sri Lanka eVisa

Tourist/Business ETA

Holders of business or tourist Sri Lankan ETAs can enjoy the possibility to enter Sri Lanka two times throughout the ETA’s validity period, which is 180 days (6 months). Every traveler can stay in the country for up to 30 days in total.

Important: If you plan to use your ETA for the second time, you must remember to enter the country within 1 month from your first visit.

Transit ETA

The transit ETA also remains valid for 6 months from its issue date. Nevertheless, its holder may stay in Sri Lanka only 48 hours before reaching the final destination. The planned layover cannot last more than 2 days!

How to apply online for your e Visa Sri Lanka

First of all, go to the application form and follow a few very intuitive steps, which include:

  1. Filling out the online form: provide standard personal data, travel information, and contact details. Carefully go through all the entered data and check for errors.
  2. Covering ETA processing fee: use one of the available methods of online payment, including credit/debit card, PayPal, etc., and pay 69 Euro of the fee charged for professional assistance throughout your entire application process.
  3. Checking your email: refresh your inbox and download the approved ETA, which will be delivered in PDF format within maximally 72 hours.

How to Use Your eVisa in Sri Lanka

After going through all steps of the ETA application, you will receive the confirmation via mail. Download your ETA and save its copy on your electronic device. There is no need to print it out since Sri Lankan ETA is automatically linked to the passport used in the online application.

Upon your arrival in Sri Lanka, you will need to show your valid passport to the customs officials. They will check its validity during the airport control.

Please note: Any modification of your passport data or your passport loss will automatically invalidate your ETA!